Dodgers

Bill Beverly

Published by No Exit Press in Hardback (£14.99) on 30-03-2016

‘One of the greatest literary crime novels you will read in your lifetime’

DONALD RAY POLLOCK

For fans of THE WIRE, GEORGE PELECANOS and CLOCKERS, Dodgers announces the arrival of an exceptional new talent. This gripping literary thriller, with an ensemble cast, fuses a moving, coming of age story with a meditation on the very nature of belonging.

When fifteen year old East, a low-level lookout for a Los Angeles drug organisation, loses his watch house in a police raid, his boss recruits him for a very different job: a road trip – straight down the middle of white, rural America – to assassinate a judge in Wisconsin.

Having no choice, East and a crew of untested boys – including his inscrutable, trigger-happy younger brother, Ty – leave the only home they’ve ever known. Setting off in a nondescript blue van, with a roll of cash, a map and a gun they shouldn’t have, this amateur crew embark on a life-changing odyssey into the unknown.

Along the way, the country surprises East. The blood on his hands isn’t the blood he expects. And he reaches places where only he can decide which way to go – or which person to become.

An intense, dangerous thriller delivered with a poignancy that will break your heart, Dodgers is the American road trip for our times. From the mean streets of south LA to the hinterlands of the American Midwest, the pared down, raw prose of Beverly’s incredible debut will keep you spellbound, shocked and thrilled to the very last page.

 

PR Collective’s current campaigns

See more campaigns →
STEFG LOGO 2018

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2018

AMERICAN AND WOMEN WRITERS DOMINATE LIST ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2018 SUNDAY TIMES EFG SHORT STORY AWARD LONGLIST 9 Americans, 4 British and 2 Irish writers in 15-strong longlist that includes Allegra Goodman, Miranda July, Joseph O’Neill, Yiyun Li, Victor Lodato and Curtis Sittenfeld   Female and American writers are at the core of the 15-strong longlist for the 2018 […]

Read more →

text me when

Text Me When You Get Home

Text me when you get home: a simple phrase with a complex meaning for the women who utter it. After nights out together or afternoon coffees, those six words are a parting ritual for women everywhere. But more than simply a way to say goodbye, this phrase represents a deeper sense of solidarity: it’s about […]

Read more →

Being Adam Golightly

Being Adam Golightly

The cruel early death of his wife Helen tears up the script of Adam Golightly’s middle-class, middle-aged existence. Miserably single, outnumbered by his kids and haunted by life’s screaming fragility; he recounts his fight back against the hand of fate. This irreverent and frank memoir follows Adam’s snakes-and-ladders journey through his grief in the year […]

Read more →