Dodgers

Bill Beverly

Published by No Exit Press in Hardback (£14.99) on 30-03-2016

‘One of the greatest literary crime novels you will read in your lifetime’

DONALD RAY POLLOCK

For fans of THE WIRE, GEORGE PELECANOS and CLOCKERS, Dodgers announces the arrival of an exceptional new talent. This gripping literary thriller, with an ensemble cast, fuses a moving, coming of age story with a meditation on the very nature of belonging.

When fifteen year old East, a low-level lookout for a Los Angeles drug organisation, loses his watch house in a police raid, his boss recruits him for a very different job: a road trip – straight down the middle of white, rural America – to assassinate a judge in Wisconsin.

Having no choice, East and a crew of untested boys – including his inscrutable, trigger-happy younger brother, Ty – leave the only home they’ve ever known. Setting off in a nondescript blue van, with a roll of cash, a map and a gun they shouldn’t have, this amateur crew embark on a life-changing odyssey into the unknown.

Along the way, the country surprises East. The blood on his hands isn’t the blood he expects. And he reaches places where only he can decide which way to go – or which person to become.

An intense, dangerous thriller delivered with a poignancy that will break your heart, Dodgers is the American road trip for our times. From the mean streets of south LA to the hinterlands of the American Midwest, the pared down, raw prose of Beverly’s incredible debut will keep you spellbound, shocked and thrilled to the very last page.

 

PR Collective’s current campaigns

See more campaigns →

The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award

The leading provider of spoken word entertainment will join forces with The Sunday Times to produce an audio anthology for The Sunday Times Audible Short Story Award 2019, now in its tenth year Audible, the leading provider of audio storytelling has joined forces with The Sunday Times to sponsor The Sunday Times Audible Short Story […]

Read more →

Day of the Accident

A haunting new thriller by the author of My Sister’s Bones that asks the question: how far would you go to prove you didn’t kill your daughter? Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie’s world is torn apart. The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the […]

Read more →

Liferider

“LIFERIDER is Laird’s view from the lip of life; observations from where he is right now on how we might better manage the turbulence of life—the biggest wave we’ll ever ride—by reaching back into the brilliant creature we are, instead of always reaching up to the being we aspire to be.” —From the introduction by Julian Borra

Read more →